Chief Justice Leads Justice Farewell and Welcome Ceremony

A ceremony to welcome incoming constitutional justices and say goodbye to outgoing constitutional justices, Thursday (1/18/2024). Photo by MKRI/Ifa.

JAKARTA (MKRI) — Chief Justice Suhartoyo led a farewell ceremony for Manahan M. P. Sitompul and Wahiduddin Adams, who ended their service as constitutional justices on December 8, 2023 and January 17, 2024 respectively.

The chief justice removed the collars of the outgoing justices and put them on to the incoming constitutional justices, Constitutional Justices Ridwan Mansyur and Arsul Sani. It was then followed by him gifting tokens of appreciation to the two outgoing justices.

In his speech, the chief justice said that the event was proof that both former justices Manahan M. P. Sitompul and Wahiduddin Adams had been committed to their duties with loyalty, dedication, and service. He thanked the two former justices for their contribution on behalf of the Constitutional Court family.

“This retirement does not mean completion of duties in the real sense, since other assignments await. On behalf of the family of the Constitutional Court, [I] thank Their Excellencies Mr. Manahan and Mr. Wahid for your loyalty, dedication, and service for the Constitutional Court,” Chief Justice Suhartoyo said.

He also welcomed incoming justices Ridwan Mansyur and Arsul Sani and hoped that both can adjust to their duties in the Constitutional Court.

Next, former justices Manahan and Wahiduddin expressed their gratitude and apology to the constitutional justices, their direct staff members, and the Court employees, who have all supported them while serving, including the Police officers who had provided them with security services. They also expressed their impressions and messages.

Manahan served as a constitutional justice for eight years and eight months, while Wahiduddin served for 67 days short of ten years.

Also read:

Ridwan Mansyur Takes Oath as Constitutional Justice

Arsul Sani Takes Oath as Constitutional Justice

Justice Ridwan Mansyur took his oath as a constitutional justice on Friday, January 8, 2024. He was proposed by the Supreme Court (MA) to replace Manahan M. P. Sitompul, who entered into retirement in December 2023.

Meanwhile, Arsul Sani took his oath earlier in the day, Thursday, January 18. He was proposed by the House of Representatives (DPR) to replace Wahiduddin Adams, who entered into retirement in January. The new constitutional justices took their oaths before President Joko Widodo at the State Palace, Jakarta.

Both Ridwan and Arsul were also given the opportunity to express their impressions and messages. While serving as a registrar in the Supreme Court, Ridwan said, he had had appreciation for the Constitutional Court’s information system in the era of ICT-based modern judiciary. Before the farewell-and-welcome ceremony, Ridwan had joined several hearings in the Constitutional Court after being sworn in in December 2023 and even participated in a ruling hearing on Wednesday, January 17.

Meanwhile, Arsul Sani revealed that he first visited the Constitutional Court in 2010 as a legal counsel for the executive board of Nahdlatul Ulama in a material judicial review case of the Law on the Prevention of Abuse and/or Blasphemy. The Constitutional Court, he said, was not new to him because he had often testified to represent the House.

The farewell-and-welcome ceremony was followed by congratulatory messages to the incoming constitutional justices and their staff members. It was concluded with a procession to the Court’s pillars and a photo session.

Author       : Mimi Kartika
Editor        : Nur R.
Translator  : Yuniar Widiastuti (NL)

Disclaimer: The original version of the news is in Indonesian. In case of any differences between the English and the Indonesian versions, the Indonesian version will prevail.

Thursday, January 18, 2024 | 18:06 WIB 91
  • Budi Wibowo Halim (Pemohon) menyampaikan pokok-pokok perbaikan atas permohonan Perkara Nomor 117/PUU-XXI/2023. Foto Humas/Ifa

    Image 1
  • Majelis Sidang Panel yang di ketuai oleh Hakim Konstitusi Enny Nurbaningsih. Foto Humas/Fauzan

    Image 2