KPU Denies Switching Democrat DPRD Candidate’s Votes for Papua Pegunungan 1

The Respondent’s legal counsel Johanis H Maturbongs conveying an objection at a follow-up hearing of legislative election results dispute for the electoral district of Papua Pegunungan 1 of Papua Pegunungan Province, Tuesday (5/14/2024). Photo by MKRI/Ifa.

JAKARTA (MKRI) — The General Elections Commission (KPU) has denied the addition of votes for legislative candidate Fransina Daby as argued by another Democratic Party candidate Emus M. Gwijangge in the DPRD (House of Representatives) election of the electoral district of Papua Pegunungan 1, said the KPU as the Respondent in case No. 48-02-14-37/PHPU.DPR-DPRD-XXII/2024 on the 2024 legislative election results dispute filed by Emus M. Gwijangge.

“It is not true that the Respondent added votes to candidate Fransina Daby as alleged by the Petitioner,” said the Respondent’s legal counsel Johanis H. Maturbongs in the plenary courtroom on Tuesday, May 14, 2024.

The KPU said that it could not implement the recommendation of Jayawijaya Regency Bawaslu (Elections Supervisory Body) regarding the correction of Emus’ votes to 2,290 votes because the recommendation was only received by the KPU on March 23, 2024, while the national-level recapitulation plenary session was completed in Jakarta on March 20, 2024.

Also read: Democrat Candidates Fight for DPRD Votes in Papua Pegunungan Province 1

Meanwhile, Bawaslu said it had issued a recommendation to correct the recapitulation of vote count results at polling stations (TPS) in Wamena, Bugi, Bipiri, and Ibele Districts. The reason for the recommendation is because there were illegible C-result forms and those that are legible have been included in the recommendation.

In its petitum, the Petitioner requests the Court to cancel the KPU Decree No. 360 of 2024 on the certification of the 2024 legislative election results of the DPR (House of Representatives), DPD (Regional Representatives Council), and Provincial and Regency/City DPRD announced nationwide on March 20, 2024 for the following electoral districts: a. Jayawijaya 1 of Papua Pegunungan Province for the Papua Pegunungan Province DPRD election; b. TPS 18, 33, C-result forms of Wamena Kota Village and C-result forms of TPS 14 of Sinakma Village, Wamena District, Jayawijaya Regency, Papua Pegunungan Province; c. TPS 1, 2 of Dewene Village, TPS 01 of Kaulangga Village, TPS 03 of Maner Village, TPS 04, 06 of Manda Village, TPS 01 of Tagulik Village, and TPS 01 of Totni Village in Bugi District, Jayawijaya Regency, Papua Pegunungan Province; d. Bpiri District, Jayawijaya Regency, Papua Pegunungan Province; and e. TPS 02, 03 of Ayobaibur Village, TPS 01, 02 of Habema Village, TPS 03, 05 of Holaliba Village, TPS 01, 03 of Ibele Village, TPS 01, 02 of Yagarobak Village, TPS 001, 002, 003 of Yelebarek Village, TPS 001, 002, 003, 004, 005, 066 of Yokalpalek Village, TPS 001, 002, 003, 004 of Zinai Village, and TPS 001 of Zapma Village, Ibele District, Jayawijaya Regency, Papua Pegunungan Province.

The Petitioner also requests the Court to determine the correct vote acquisition results for the Papua Pegunungan Provincial DPRD election in the electoral district of Papua Pegunungan 1 for Democratic Party candidates as follows: Emus M. Gwijangge with 11,715 votes and Fransina Daby with 10,428 votes.

Author              : Mimi Kartika
Editor               : Lulu Anjarsari P.
PR                    : Andhini S.F.
Translator         : Jessica Rivena Meilania, Yuniar W.

Disclaimer: The original version of the news is in Indonesian. In case of any differences between the English and the Indonesian versions, the Indonesian version will prevail.

Tuesday, May 14, 2024 | 21:47 WIB 43